Uterine Hemostasis Colloquium

The Challenges of Obstetric and Gynecologic Bleeding in the Reproductive Years

Preceding HTRS 2017 10th Scientific Symposium
Program Co-Chairs: 
Andra H. James, MD, MPH, and Kenneth G. Mann, PhD

Program Description:
The proposed meeting, a national colloquium on uterine hemostasis, will convene leading faculty/researchers/clinicians to review our current understanding of the science as well as current evidence-based practice related to the diagnosis and clinical management of abnormal uterine hemostasis. It will examine current understanding and practice as applied to: 
  1. acute abnormal bleeding
  2. postpartum hemorrhage
  3. underlying bleeding disorders
2:00 PM - 6:00 PM*
Wednesday, April 5, 2017

* Attendee Reception to follow (Wine and Light Fare)

7:30 AM** - 12:30 PM
Thursday, April 6, 2017

** Breakfast will be provided

DoubleTree Resort Paradise Valley
5401 N Scottsdale Road
Scottsdale, AZ  85250
Tel: (480) 947-5400
(Hotel reservations for this meeting can be made on our registration page.)
Long-term impact: To improve the recognition of the role of uterine hemostasis in abnormal uterine bleeding, in postpartum hemorrhage and among women with bleeding disorders.

Topic Areas:

  • Gynecologic Solutions: Achievement through normal ovulatory cycle, normal uterine integrity
  • Obstetric SolutionsAchievement through thrombosis of uterine veins, uterine ischemia, and uterine contraction
  • Hematologic Solutions: Achievement through normal platelet function, when there is normal coagulation
  • Discussion of the three solution areas: What are the existing options and what are the opportunities? 
Experts and Faculty will include: 

Gowthami Arepally, MD; Janice Bacon, MD; Ware Branch, MD; Fred Burbank, MD; Mitchell Cohen, MD; Mike Foley, MD; Chad Grotegut, MD, MHSc; Maureane Hoffman, MD, PhD; Barbara Konkle, MD; Peter Kouides, MD; Roshni Kulkarni, MD; Evelyn Lockhart, MD; Michael Paidas, MD; Cathleen Peterson-Layne, MD; Claire Philipp, MD; Donna DiMichele, MD (planning team member)